Home School & College 6 Central Universities identified to start Yoga Departments

6 Central Universities identified to start Yoga Departments

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi participates in the mass yoga demonstration, on the occasion of the 4th International Day of Yoga 2018, at the Forest Research Institute, in Dehradun, Uttarakhand on June 21, 2018.

Today:- August – The Ministry of Human Resource Development had appointed a committee, under the chairpersonship of Prof. H.R. Nagendra, Chancellor, Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana, Bengaluru (S-VYASA) for making recommendations on Yoga Education in Universities. The Committee had prescribed curriculum for Yoga courses in its recommendations. As a follow up to the recommendations of the Committee, the Ministry had asked the University Grants Commission (UGC) to promote five Yoga courses in Universities and Colleges. Course and Course Code-wise duration of Yoga courses are as follows:



Course Code



Bachelors of Science (Yoga)


3 year to 6 year


Masters of Science (Yoga)

M.Sc. (Yoga)

2 year to 4 year


Doctor of Philosophy (Yoga)

PhD (Yoga)

As per the PhD duration

specified by UGC
Teennews1 News Desk

Leave a Reply